top of page
Writer's pictureRose Crawford

Hosptial bag checklist

Updated: Aug 31, 2023

After five babies, and on ball completely dropped I want to impart some advice on what you actually need in your hospital bag. I have read so many blogs. where they have so much stuff on their list. To be fair the military taught me to pack concise. I can easily pack our family of seven out for a weekend getaway in the back of an Atlas ok. I am an Amazon Affiliate who earns on qualifying purchases.

So lets go through the list of what you need to have in that labor and delivery bag! Just be sure to pack it at least 4 weeks in advance. If you don't believe me just look up my last post on Superman and The Hospital Bag.


First thing first, get yourself a gown momma. Seriously not just for photos but it makes such a difference! I've worn the hospital issued gowns, I've had enough time to strip down and deliver in a T-shirt, my favorite is something that I was super comfy in though! Look for one that not only has your breastfeeding flaps, or skin to skin area, but also has access in the back! This is one of the ones I used, because lets be honest you don't want to spend a ton on something that will be covered in blood...So here is your all-in-one hospital gown that doesn't cost an arm and leg! https://amzn.to/3OUfSm9


While we are at it. They do give you socks. And if you're a first-time mom you're thinking I won't use those! But when you strip down to that lovely gown, and you need to walk and move around your are goanna want to get something that's non-slip. I am a big believer in mind over matter and it can change an entire delivery experience. So set success with these great socks! https://amzn.to/3PfnX6i

Ok now that your little bundle has made their arrival in this world. You will want pictures. And lets be honest between sore nipples and bleeding you may not want to change. Grab a robe! Seriously it's such a great way to dress up with out the effort. It made me feel more secure as visitors came. (Even though by baby 5 we decided against people coming). Here's the link https://amzn.to/47MD2n3 to check out. They have multiple color combos as well.


Delivery always made me wish for the little things I always forgot. So Honesty beauty put together this all in one kit! It has face wash, body cream and nip cream! I have super sensitve skin so I have leaned towards Honest Company for a while now. https://amzn.to/3qNU7wo

Another fun little find was these super cute packing cubes. It just helps you narrow down what you need! It also helps dads find things in the bag. Because who wants to rifle through an entire weekender bag in the middle of a contraction. https://amzn.to/3EeGUQh



Some odds and ends things you will need for delivery include:

  • Phone charger

  • Chapstick (if you use it)

  • your favorite water bottle.

  • Nursing/ Sports bra

  • a speaker (if you are choosing music in your delivery room)

  • Tablet or laptop

  • a bored game (in case you get induced.) I would suggest Yatzee or Play nine.

  • a first outfit for baby

  • going home outfit for you and baby.

  • diaper bag for baby.

Leaving the hospital, you will honestly be loaded down with free stuff. Notice how I don't have underwear listed.... Use those mesh panties ladies. They are comfy seriously you're going home anyways. They will give you everything you touched. So, tuck wipes free, pads, diapers, some formula if you need it.


If you want a compressive checklist subscribe below to have one delivered to your inbox!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page