top of page
Writer's pictureRose Crawford

It's not my season.

Updated: Sep 27, 2023


Today we went and watched Superman play a football game. He's 8th grade and I have no clue on how we got here as fast as we have. He didn't play much they had a blow out so second string went in for some play time. He still played his heart out and I loved every second of seeing it. It's times like these that makes me love exactly the life I've choose. I didn't choose a career, I am not some influencer, just a mom who wants her kids to know they have someone in the stands.


As we got home, I was heating up dinner for everyone. The dogs were going insane, pretty sure trying to murder the chickens. The kids were loud about the game. Superman was going over everything about the game. I finally had the middle three seated to eat, got Superman's food. My parents are visiting so I was able to get theirs ready as well. I sat baby in his high-chair,

and he was feeding himself. By the time I got my dinner baby was ready to be released to the world. But let's just say this baby had an orange pasta dish of some sort meaning he couldn't get down and crawl until a bath was had.


So I took him to his bath. I grabbed my food as we headed in the bathroom. As I sat on the bathroom floor tonight eating my cold dinner watching baby in the bath it hit me. It's not my season, it's theirs. It's the season for football, dance practices, church events, preschool runs, meeting with teacher on how to help our kid with ADHD. It the season for hockey games, and travel more for kids sports then it is for a super nice family vacation. It's the season for them to have a really nice warm meal but for mine to be cold. It's the season for the crushed-up fries in the backseat instead a well maintained car. It's the season for baby formula to add to the art decor in my backseat. It's the season for everything to be about them and me slowly watching time slip by. It's not my season. It's not my season to have free time, a super nice car, or even much time to spare. But guess what?


This is season I will always remember. I will remember all the little things that add up to making their childhood. I will forever remember watching my 5'10" 8th grader, thinking about the time he started flag football. I am always going to remember after practice feeling like I had nothing left eating dinner on the bathroom floor as my baby looked at me and laughed. This is the most selfless spectacular season I am living.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page